Page MenuHomePhabricator

[clang][C++20] p0960 Allow initializing aggregates from a parenthesized list of values
AbandonedPublic

Authored by ecatmur on Sep 19 2022, 3:34 PM.

Details

Reviewers
None
Group Reviewers
Restricted Project
Summary
  • p0960 Allow initializing aggregates from a parenthesized list of values
  • p1975 Fixing the wording of parenthesized aggregate-initialization

Follows gcc for the most part, except for coroutines (cf. https://cpplang.slack.com/archives/CBTFTLR9R/p1657730176797929)

Fixes https://github.com/llvm/llvm-project/issues/53627

In competition with https://reviews.llvm.org/D129531, sorry - I got frustrated waiting.

Diff Detail

Unit TestsFailed

TimeTest
180 msx64 debian > Clang.SemaCXX::new-delete.cpp
Script: -- : 'RUN: at line 1'; /var/lib/buildkite-agent/builds/llvm-project/build/bin/clang -cc1 -internal-isystem /var/lib/buildkite-agent/builds/llvm-project/build/lib/clang/16.0.0/include -nostdsysteminc -fsyntax-only -verify /var/lib/buildkite-agent/builds/llvm-project/clang/test/SemaCXX/new-delete.cpp -triple=i686-pc-linux-gnu -Wno-new-returns-null -std=c++98

Event Timeline

ecatmur created this revision.Sep 19 2022, 3:34 PM
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptSep 19 2022, 3:34 PM
ecatmur requested review of this revision.Sep 19 2022, 3:34 PM
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptSep 19 2022, 3:34 PM
Herald added a subscriber: cfe-commits. · View Herald Transcript
shafik added a subscriber: shafik.Sep 20 2022, 11:14 AM

Hello Ed, thank you for picking up this work.

I liked the approach in the first PR, did you consider reaching out to the author is asking if it was ok to commandeer the work to allow it to move forward?

ayzhao added a subscriber: ayzhao.Sep 22 2022, 10:58 AM

Hello Ed, thank you for picking up this work.

I liked the approach in the first PR, did you consider reaching out to the author is asking if it was ok to commandeer the work to allow it to move forward?

Hi Shafik,

No, I didn't consider that - sorry! I felt that having done this work independently it was worth presenting separately. Sorry if I wasted anyone's time and happy to see that Alan has picked up the other PR. I'll close this as superseded if I can work out how.

Hello Ed, thank you for picking up this work.

I liked the approach in the first PR, did you consider reaching out to the author is asking if it was ok to commandeer the work to allow it to move forward?

Hi Shafik,

No, I didn't consider that - sorry! I felt that having done this work independently it was worth presenting separately. Sorry if I wasted anyone's time and happy to see that Alan has picked up the other PR.

No worries at all, I think it's great that we had a few independent approaches to this, so definitely not a waste of time IMO.

I'll close this as superseded if I can work out how.

If you go to the "Add Action" dropdown, there should be an "Abandon Revision" option (or something along those lines).

ecatmur abandoned this revision.Nov 7 2022, 6:48 AM