Page MenuHomePhabricator

DebugInfo: Move missing-abstract-variable.ll test from Generic to X86
ClosedPublic

Authored by tstellar on Sep 14 2021, 8:26 PM.

Details

Summary

This test is XFAIL'd on most arches, and seems too fragile to be run on non-X86.

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

tstellar created this revision.Sep 14 2021, 8:26 PM
tstellar requested review of this revision.Sep 14 2021, 8:26 PM
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptSep 14 2021, 8:26 PM

when llvm is configured with LLVM_DEFAULT_TARGET_TRIPLE set to a non-empty value,

Do you mean an empty value? I believe this is set to the host by default.

when llvm is configured with LLVM_DEFAULT_TARGET_TRIPLE set to a non-empty value,

Do you mean an empty value? I believe this is set to the host by default.

Yes, you are correct, there is a default value form this variable which comes from config.guess. So I guess this means this test is sensitive to what the target triple is, because it's failing for me when I set the default triple to ppc64le-redhat-linux-gnu, but not when it uses the default triple of powerpc64le-unknown-linux-gnu.

tstellar edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)Sep 14 2021, 9:06 PM
jmorse accepted this revision.Sep 23 2021, 7:49 AM

LGTM

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Sep 23 2021, 7:49 AM

Also, the test passes for me when LLVM is configured to use the default triple of powerpc64le-unknown-linux-gnu, but fails when I configure the default triple to be ppc64le-redhat-linux-gnu.

Hmmm. Possibly the longer term fix is for this test to
a) Not be in the 'Generic' directory, or
b) Become a MIR test instead of exercising instruction selection as part of the test too.

(Adding an XFail in the meantime seems fine to me, especially as powerpc64 is already known to have this issue).

kwk requested changes to this revision.Nov 9 2021, 6:03 AM
kwk added a subscriber: kwk.

This needs rebasing...

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Nov 9 2021, 6:03 AM
tstellar updated this revision to Diff 472166.Mon, Oct 31, 3:50 PM

Move test to X86 directory.

tstellar retitled this revision from XFAIL missing-abstract-variable.ll test on ppc64le to DebugInfo: Move missing-abstract-variable.ll test from Generic to X86.Mon, Oct 31, 3:51 PM
tstellar edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)
tstellar added a reviewer: dblaikie.

Also, the test passes for me when LLVM is configured to use the default triple of powerpc64le-unknown-linux-gnu, but fails when I configure the default triple to be ppc64le-redhat-linux-gnu.

Hmmm. Possibly the longer term fix is for this test to
a) Not be in the 'Generic' directory, or
b) Become a MIR test instead of exercising instruction selection as part of the test too.

(Adding an XFail in the meantime seems fine to me, especially as powerpc64 is already known to have this issue).

In the mean time, the test has been XFAIL'd on many more arches, so I just moved it to the X86 directory.

probinson accepted this revision.Tue, Nov 1, 12:18 PM
probinson added a subscriber: probinson.

Seems like a reasonable resolution. Better than continually extending the XFAIL list.

This revision was not accepted when it landed; it landed in state Needs Review.Thu, Nov 3, 2:02 PM
This revision was landed with ongoing or failed builds.
This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.