Page MenuHomePhabricator

[libc++] Add CI job testing on FreeBSD
Needs ReviewPublic

Authored by ldionne on Jun 17 2022, 11:48 AM.

Details

Reviewers
infrandomness
emaste
dim
Group Reviewers
Restricted Project
Restricted Project

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

ldionne created this revision.Jun 17 2022, 11:48 AM
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptJun 17 2022, 11:48 AM
Herald added a subscriber: arichardson. · View Herald Transcript
ldionne requested review of this revision.Jun 17 2022, 11:48 AM
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptJun 17 2022, 11:48 AM
Herald added a reviewer: Restricted Project. · View Herald Transcript

@infrandomness Nicely suggested using one of their machines running FreeBSD. We've set up a BuildKite agent and this patch should allow targeting the agent in our CI.

We are aware that some tests are failing on FreeBSD, and it would be nice if the FreeBSD maintainers could take a look. Also, it would be nice to add at least one other FreeBSD runner that is not backed by an individual to ensure that our CI setup is robust. If @infrandomness can't provide the machine anymore in the future, or even if they simply have a power outage, it would be nice for our CI setup to still work. But this is an excellent start!

@infrandomness thanks a lot for providing this CI runner!

I had a look at the failed tests and it seems the number isn't too large and most of them seem to be filesystem and locales.
Two areas where I'm not surprised that there are issues.

@ldionne Do we want to add XFAIL to the failing tests or add a soft_fail entry?

I have some WIP patches for the locale tests that I should update . I'm not sure how long it will take to fix all the tests so maybe xfail is better so that regressions are caught?

I have some WIP patches for the locale tests that I should update . I'm not sure how long it will take to fix all the tests so maybe xfail is better so that regressions are caught?

It would be great when you can fix these tests! We can indeed make them XFAIL now and remove that in patches that fixes the tests.
We do the same for AIX, they have some people submitting fixes for their failing locale tests.

ldionne updated this revision to Diff 439491.Jun 23 2022, 12:12 PM

Add a bunch of XFAILs for tests failing on FreeBSD. Let's try to keep those temporary.

ldionne updated this revision to Diff 439515.Jun 23 2022, 1:24 PM

Rebase onto main.

ldionne updated this revision to Diff 440185.Jun 27 2022, 5:49 AM

Add XFAIL for libc++abi test.

Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptJun 27 2022, 5:49 AM
Herald added a reviewer: Restricted Project. · View Herald Transcript

@dim @emaste Can someone on FreeBSD please pick this up?

@dim @emaste Can someone on FreeBSD please pick this up?

Ping, LLVM 15 is branching soon and it would be awesome to have some confidence on our FreeBSD support.