Page MenuHomePhabricator

[cmake] Update config.guess to gnuconfig git 2018-12-07
AbandonedPublic

Authored by mgorny on Dec 7 2018, 9:41 AM.

Details

Summary

Update the bundled config.guess script to its current version,
dated 2018-12-07 (from https://git.savannah.gnu.org/git/config.git).

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

mgorny created this revision.Dec 7 2018, 9:41 AM

I have zero knowledge of build scripts, so I'm almost definitely not the right person to be reviewing. Hopefully one of the others on this list is?

mgorny added a comment.Dec 7 2018, 9:51 AM

Given this is used (and automatically updated) in autotools builds everywhere, I don't think upgrading it could break anything. The main change is license change from GPLv2 to GPLv3.

It looks good to me, but it's a question whether there are any issues with GPLv3 CC @aaron.ballman This upgrade is needed for at least NetBSD on ARM machines.

Adding more folks due to the license issue.

I have amended this file in the past and I kept it to the minimum necessary to make it work, not just got the latest file (which has a different license).

For all reviewers, please don't approve this without consensus from the right people, and at least Chris should bless it.

One would hope someone would have done similar work on a compatible license, after all these years...

It looks good to me, but it's a question whether there are any issues with GPLv3 CC @aaron.ballman This upgrade is needed for at least NetBSD on ARM machines.

This definitely needs more than just my approval, but I'm wary of the license changes. I see @rengolin added the reviewers I was going to recommend, though.

alexr added a subscriber: alexr.Dec 7 2018, 10:06 AM

One would hope someone would have done similar work on a compatible license, after all these years...

I don't think that's likely to happen, given the very narrow use of this script and how complex it logic is. I think it would take tremendous effort to reinvent all those hacks from scratch, and it would be hard to prove the work was done independently without violating copyright.

pkgsrc was already forced to install locally a newer version of config.guess in order to make LLVM buildable on more targets.

One would hope someone would have done similar work on a compatible license, after all these years...

I don't think that's likely to happen, given the very narrow use of this script and how complex it logic is. I think it would take tremendous effort to reinvent all those hacks from scratch, and it would be hard to prove the work was done independently without violating copyright.

I meant elsewhere, not in LLVM. We're not the only ones using it like that in non-GPL code. :(

aaron.ballman requested changes to this revision.Dec 17 2018, 4:55 AM

ping

I think GPLv3 is a show-stopper. @rengolin asked a good question: is there something else out there with a compatible license that we can use instead?

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Dec 17 2018, 4:55 AM
rengolin requested changes to this revision.Dec 17 2018, 5:06 AM

If you git log cmake/config.guess you'll see that all the past changes either remove functionality or add obvious parts that shouldn't inflict on copyright.

That kind of change is acceptable IFF it is reviewed and accepted by a number of core maintainers.

A blanket replacement will never be accepted on copyright and license issues that cannot be resolved.

Please, drop this patch and start a new one with *just* the functionality you need. If that turns out it's still impossible to merge (ie, use specific snippets from GPL3 code), then we'll need to find another solution.

However, as @aaron.ballman suggests, if you can find an equivalent project with a compatible license (GPL2 should be fine), then we can be easily persuaded to change LLVM.

regards,
--renato

mgorny abandoned this revision.Dec 17 2018, 5:13 AM