Page MenuHomePhabricator

[libc++][spaceship] Implement `operator<=>` for `list`
Needs ReviewPublic

Authored by avogelsgesang on Aug 20 2022, 1:54 PM.

Details

Reviewers
Mordante
mumbleskates
huixie90
Group Reviewers
Restricted Project
Summary

Implements part of P1614R2 "The Mothership has Landed"

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

avogelsgesang created this revision.Aug 20 2022, 1:54 PM
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptAug 20 2022, 1:54 PM
Herald added a subscriber: yaxunl. · View Herald Transcript
avogelsgesang requested review of this revision.Aug 20 2022, 1:54 PM
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptAug 20 2022, 1:54 PM
Herald added a reviewer: Restricted Project. · View Herald Transcript

update review link

One thing I have thought about in our march towards finishing the lexically ordered containers is that we should be able to write a test utils header with one or more templated test functions that will work for most or all of these containers. We can possibly even add (in another header?) some helpful types like weakly ordered ints, types that compare with user orderings, etc. so we don't have to keep writing them over and over. This feels fairly sane to me but I don't know what the general vibe is on how DRY is too DRY for our test suite, and maybe it's better to just copy-paste those parts of the code each time.

libcxx/test/std/containers/sequences/list/compare.pass.cpp
47 ↗(On Diff #454251)

I recommend simply adding another file, such as compare.three_way.pass.cpp, that marks standard versions before 20 as unsupported, then simply does the test. Adding the parts of the test you want to conditionally execute with dozens of conditional directives is honestly too much noise with no real benefit.

Don't forget the SFINAE tests! They should be pretty easy to do here as well. We should be able to test ordering behavior and SFINAE for all of the following:

  1. strongly ordered types
  2. partially ordered types
  3. weakly ordered types
  4. synth-ordered types (weak_ordering)
  5. custom user-ordering types (also causes synthesized weak_ordering)
  6. unordered types (SFINAE should cause the operator to not participate)

All of these should be trivially reusable or easily copyable to the other container types.

jloser added a subscriber: jloser.Aug 21 2022, 6:52 AM

One thing I have thought about in our march towards finishing the lexically ordered containers is that we should be able to write a test utils header with one or more templated test functions that will work for most or all of these containers. We can possibly even add (in another header?) some helpful types like weakly ordered ints, types that compare with user orderings, etc. so we don't have to keep writing them over and over. This feels fairly sane to me but I don't know what the general vibe is on how DRY is too DRY for our test suite, and maybe it's better to just copy-paste those parts of the code each time.

I'm very +1 for that direction of having a reusable header with common types and functions for this.

I think I also agree on the comments with regard to the tests

libcxx/include/list
2341

_LIBCPP_HIDE_FROM_ABI

2341

perhaps I missed something but have you included the header that defines __synth_three_way_result

avogelsgesang added inline comments.Aug 21 2022, 1:30 PM
libcxx/include/list
2341

the complete <compare> header is a standard-mandated include. See line 226

Mordante added inline comments.Aug 31 2022, 1:07 PM
libcxx/test/std/containers/sequences/list/compare.pass.cpp
47 ↗(On Diff #454251)

I like the general idea! How about instead add a generic header file and make it possible to use the functions in there for the tests? Like we do in the test_comparisons.h header. That way the tests are at the expected location.

WDYT?

avogelsgesang marked 2 inline comments as done.

Introduce reusable test function

libcxx/test/std/containers/sequences/list/compare.pass.cpp
47 ↗(On Diff #454251)

Good idea. I introduced test_container_comparisons.h to contain those test helpers. In the future, we should also add a similar utility to test containers like std::map, std::set.

The test functions are already written with std::vector in mind, i.e. they are constexpr and return true, so they can be used to test the constexpr-ness of std::vector.

custom user-ordering types (also causes synthesized weak_ordering)

How do I write such a user-ordering?