Page MenuHomePhabricator

Removing *_equality.
AbandonedPublic

Authored by BRevzin on Feb 6 2020, 5:24 PM.

Details

Reviewers
mclow.lists
EricWF
Quuxplusone
ldionne
Group Reviewers
Restricted Project
Summary

This removes weak_equality and strong_equality (per P1959R0).

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

BRevzin created this revision.Feb 6 2020, 5:24 PM
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptFeb 6 2020, 5:24 PM
BRevzin edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)Feb 6 2020, 5:33 PM
BRevzin added a reviewer: Restricted Project.
BRevzin edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)
ldionne requested changes to this revision.Mar 4 2020, 8:21 AM
ldionne added inline comments.
libcxx/include/compare
72

Why is this changed to 2, and why was it -127 before? Sorry, I'm missing context on the history of this header (which was originally implemented by @EricWF)

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Mar 4 2020, 8:21 AM
BRevzin marked an inline comment as done.Mar 4 2020, 9:14 AM
BRevzin added inline comments.
libcxx/include/compare
72

It was -127 because that's the exposition-only specification in [cmp].

I changed it to 2 to make it easier to do the comparisons.

EricWF requested changes to this revision.Mar 4 2020, 1:52 PM

I would rather see a patch that only removes the removed interfaces, and doesn't do all the additional cleanup you've done.

ldionne resigned from this revision.Mar 5 2020, 8:50 AM

I'll let @EricWF take it on since he wrote that code.

BRevzin updated this revision to Diff 250442.Mar 15 2020, 2:37 PM
BRevzin retitled this revision from Removing *_equality and simplifying comparisons. to Removing *_equality..
BRevzin edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)

Splitting the diff to JUST remove weak/strong_equality.

BRevzin added a comment.EditedMar 15 2020, 2:37 PM

I would rather see a patch that only removes the removed interfaces, and doesn't do all the additional cleanup you've done.

Done. I'll do the second bit after this one is accepted (though my main motivation for opening this review was the "cleanup" - optimizing the comparisons).

Quuxplusone accepted this revision as: Quuxplusone.Mar 26 2021, 9:28 AM
Quuxplusone added a subscriber: Quuxplusone.

I think this is great.
Please update docs/Cxx2aStatusPaperStatus.csv, and rebase; then (assuming there are no surprises in the rebase) it LGTM.
(ping! @EricWF)

BRevzin abandoned this revision.Tue, May 4, 1:35 PM

Abandoning in favor of cjdb's more active contributions.