Page MenuHomePhabricator

[NFC] [PowerPC] Add volatile flag to a swap optimization test
AbandonedPublic

Authored by qiucf on Nov 17 2019, 10:40 PM.

Details

Reviewers
wschmidt
jsji
Group Reviewers
Restricted Project
Summary

This patch is predecessor of D70223. Since the patch is to optimize vector load-update-store pattern, some of the tests might be affected. The two test cases modified in this patch is to check PPC's swap removal, not related to stores. So it's better to add volatile flag to them, for eliminating unintended test break.

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

qiucf created this revision.Nov 17 2019, 10:40 PM
qiucf retitled this revision from [NFC] [PowerPC] Add volatile flag to a swap optimization test. to [NFC] [PowerPC] Add volatile flag to a swap optimization test.Nov 17 2019, 10:46 PM
qiucf added a reviewer: wschmidt.
lkail added a subscriber: lkail.Nov 18 2019, 7:18 PM

My concern is store and store volatile are so different in semantics that it might break original test intention.

Agree with Kai. You need some evidence to show that, this won't break the test point.

qiucf added a comment.Nov 19 2019, 9:36 PM

My concern is store and store volatile are so different in semantics that it might break original test intention.

Agree with Kai. You need some evidence to show that, this won't break the test point.

The two tests are testing functionality of swap removal which runs on machine functions. volatile won't affect generated MIR here.

jsji requested changes to this revision.EditedNov 25 2019, 6:52 AM

I agree with @lkail and @steven.zhang , I don't think we should update these testcases just to avoid updating them in another patch.

I believe keeping them as it is will catch more regression than adding volatile to them .

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Nov 25 2019, 6:52 AM
qiucf abandoned this revision.Nov 27 2019, 2:43 AM

Will abandon this revision and add them back to D70223 for easier discussion.