Page MenuHomePhabricator

[libc++][ranges][NFC] Revamp the Ranges status page
ClosedPublic

Authored by var-const on Oct 24 2022, 7:36 PM.

Details

Summary

Focus on the not-yet-implemented features: remove most details about the
already-implemented C++20 stuff, list out the major C++23 additions.

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

var-const created this revision.Oct 24 2022, 7:36 PM
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptOct 24 2022, 7:36 PM
var-const updated this revision to Diff 470358.Oct 24 2022, 7:41 PM

Remove old status page

var-const published this revision for review.Oct 25 2022, 1:19 AM
var-const retitled this revision from Initial to [libc++][ranges][NFC] Revamp the Ranges status page.
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptOct 25 2022, 1:19 AM
Herald added a reviewer: Restricted Project. · View Herald Transcript
ldionne added inline comments.
libcxx/docs/Status/RangesIssues.csv
0

Do we need that separate page? Can't we track those using the normal C++20/C++23 issues page?

libcxx/docs/Status/RangesPapers.csv
1 ↗(On Diff #470358)

Same here -- why don't we track that from the C++20/C++23 papers page instead?

Thanks for improving the status pages!

libcxx/docs/Status/Cxx2bPapers.csv
65

This will be a merge conflict, the status is partial https://libcxx.llvm.org/Status/Cxx2b.html

libcxx/docs/Status/RangesIssues.csv
0

We indeed removed issues from the status pages in the past. I don't mind to keep them. Looking at the huge list of issues I can imagine tracking them on one page is easier; even when it duplicates entries. (Something tells me C++26 will add new LWG issues for ranges.)

libcxx/docs/Status/RangesPapers.csv
51 ↗(On Diff #470358)

This is not true; parts have already landed ;-) I already track this on the format status page. (https://libcxx.llvm.org/Status/Format.html)

Drive-by comments for consistency

libcxx/docs/Status/Cxx20Issues.csv
100

It might also be worth to linkify all those papers (as done elsewhere)

107
206

Always been mildly bothered by this inconsistency.

libcxx/docs/Status/Cxx2bIssues.csv
37
76

Missing ,"" at the end (might work without it, but still cleaner to have right number of columns)

178
var-const updated this revision to Diff 470689.Oct 25 2022, 8:35 PM
var-const marked 9 inline comments as done.

Address feedback, fix build issues, add some missing links

var-const edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)Oct 25 2022, 8:36 PM
var-const added inline comments.
libcxx/docs/Status/Cxx20Issues.csv
100

Agreed, but I'd rather do it in a separate patch and keep this focused on Ranges. (Or feel free to send in the patch if you'd like)

206

Same -- agreed this should be fixed, but I'd rather keep this patch smaller. Would you like to do a patch with the fixes you mentioned? I can help you with generating the docs to check the change locally.

libcxx/docs/Status/Cxx2bIssues.csv
37

Thanks!

76

I'm not sure -- the existing formatting seems to always have an empty column for the status row and the first released version raw, but not for the label row. I followed that for consistency, but I presume either works.

libcxx/docs/Status/Cxx2bPapers.csv
65

Thanks! Should I add you as an assignee on this in the RangesMajorFeatures.csv list? (it's primarily to make sure we don't accidentally duplicate work)

libcxx/docs/Status/RangesIssues.csv
0

Honestly, I'm torn about this. Neither keeping two large lists in sync (when they are almost guaranteed to diverge) nor having to scoop around a huge list of papers searching for a certain tag seems great. I wish it were possible to import only a subset of a CSV table, filtered by a tag, but I'd be surprised if it were a supported option.

After discussing this with @ldionne, I decided to drop the duplication. IIUC, we will switch to using GitHub issues to track these at some point, so ultimately it's not super important how we approach this.

libcxx/docs/Status/RangesPapers.csv
1 ↗(On Diff #470358)

Removed now.

51 ↗(On Diff #470358)

This is great! And thank you for the heads-up.

After discussing this with @ldionne, I decided to drop the duplication. IIUC, we will switch to using GitHub issues to track these at some point, so ultimately it's not super important how we approach this.

+1 for doing this in GitHub

I recall we discussed that in the past but it required GitHub projects to be enabled for LLVM.

libcxx/docs/Status/Cxx2bPapers.csv
65

Yes please assign it to me.

var-const edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)

Update the status of in-progress items.

Mordante accepted this revision as: Mordante.Oct 27 2022, 9:36 AM

LGTM, I leave the final approval for another reviewer.

jloser added a subscriber: jloser.Oct 27 2022, 10:12 AM

After discussing this with @ldionne, I decided to drop the duplication. IIUC, we will switch to using GitHub issues to track these at some point, so ultimately it's not super important how we approach this.

+1 for doing this in GitHub

I recall we discussed that in the past but it required GitHub projects to be enabled for LLVM.

I'm also +1 for using GitHub issues to track the work instead. It has a lot of benefits, including visibility for external contributors who may not be aware of the status pages.

huixie90 accepted this revision as: huixie90.Oct 28 2022, 12:25 AM
ldionne accepted this revision.Nov 20 2022, 9:04 AM
This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Nov 20 2022, 9:04 AM