Page MenuHomePhabricator

Add llvm-readobj and binutils symlinks to LLVM_TOOLCHAIN_TOOLS
ClosedPublic

Authored by LittleFox94 on Jun 25 2021, 4:17 PM.

Details

Summary

This patch adds llvm-readobj and the binutils symlink for readelf to LLVM_TOOLCHAIN_TOOLS.

They are required by some (most?) autoconf-built libraries, adding these allows me to build newlib with the toolchain generated this way.

Also opened an issue for that some days ago, see https://bugs.llvm.org/show_bug.cgi?id=50698

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

LittleFox94 created this revision.Jun 25 2021, 4:17 PM
LittleFox94 requested review of this revision.Jun 25 2021, 4:17 PM
Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptJun 25 2021, 4:17 PM

AFAICT llvm-readobj is something specific to llvm. There is no readobj in binutils or anywhere else is there?

llvm-readobj is llvm specific, but readelf is not and llvm-readobj is llvm's implementation of readelf (hence the already existing symlink to it)

Or do you mean we shouldn't make the readobj symlink? I added it for completeness, but I didn't see a requirement for it

Am 28. Juni 2021 19:03:46 MESZ schrieb Sam Clegg via Phabricator <reviews@reviews.llvm.org>:

sbc100 added a comment.

AFAICT llvm-readobj is something specific to llvm. There is no
readobj in binutils or anywhere else is there?

Repository:

rG LLVM Github Monorepo

CHANGES SINCE LAST ACTION

https://reviews.llvm.org/D104957/new/

https://reviews.llvm.org/D104957

llvm-readobj is llvm specific, but readelf is not and llvm-readobj is llvm's implementation of readelf (hence the already existing symlink to it)

Or do you mean we shouldn't make the readobj symlink? I added it for completeness, but I didn't see a requirement for it

Yes it seems perhaps unnecessary (and maybe confusing?) to include that symlink.

Am 28. Juni 2021 19:03:46 MESZ schrieb Sam Clegg via Phabricator <reviews@reviews.llvm.org>:

sbc100 added a comment.

AFAICT llvm-readobj is something specific to llvm. There is no
readobj in binutils or anywhere else is there?

Repository:

rG LLVM Github Monorepo

CHANGES SINCE LAST ACTION

https://reviews.llvm.org/D104957/new/

https://reviews.llvm.org/D104957

LittleFox94 edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)

Removed the symlink to readobj since it's not required and might be confusing

Slight ping

I removed the readobj symlink but am not sure if you were notified of that ^^'

hey @sbc100, do you have time to look at this again? Would be great to have this upstreamed :)

sbc100 accepted this revision.Jul 21 2021, 8:50 AM
This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jul 21 2021, 8:50 AM

Thank you for looking at it again and approving it, @sbc100 :)

Sorry to have to bother you again, but could you maybe also commit it? I cannot do that myself, sadly ._.
Also, is this something I should write in the summary already, in the future?

Author for the commit would be Mara Sophie Grosch <littlefox@lf-net.org>

Thank you

xgupta added a subscriber: xgupta.Jul 22 2021, 3:31 AM

Thank you for looking at it again and approving it, @sbc100 :)

Sorry to have to bother you again, but could you maybe also commit it? I cannot do that myself, sadly ._.
Also, is this something I should write in the summary already, in the future?

Author for the commit would be Mara Sophie Grosch <littlefox@lf-net.org>

Thank you

@LittleFox94 if you want to continue contributing, you may ask for commit access, bar is quite low in LLVM community.
Please follow:
https://llvm.org/docs/DeveloperPolicy.html#obtaining-commit-access

This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.

@sbc100 thank you for committing this :)

@xgupta thank you for mentioning I might ask for commit access, I did and was accepted yesterday

Wanted to use this commit as my test commit, but now it's already done (which is good, thanks) ^^

@xgupta thank you for mentioning I might ask for commit access, I did and was accepted yesterday

Awesome! just remember with great power comes greats responsibility :)