Page MenuHomePhabricator

[libc++] Bump minimum compiler requirements
ClosedPublic

Authored by ldionne on Feb 2 2022, 10:29 AM.

Details

Reviewers
None
Group Reviewers
Restricted Project
Restricted Project
Commits
rG28e82982fe93: [libc++] Bump minimum compiler requirements
Summary

Now that we've branched for the LLVM 14 release, our support window
moves to clang-13 and clang-14. Similarly, AppleClang 13 has been
released for some time now, so that should be the oldest compiler
we support, per our policy.

A possible follow-up would be to remove _LIBCPP_HAS_NO_CONCEPTS, since
I don't think we support any compiler that doesn't support concepts
anymore.

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

ldionne created this revision.Feb 2 2022, 10:29 AM
ldionne requested review of this revision.Feb 2 2022, 10:29 AM
Herald added projects: Restricted Project, Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptFeb 2 2022, 10:29 AM
Herald added a reviewer: Restricted Project. · View Herald Transcript
Herald added a reviewer: Restricted Project. · View Herald Transcript

Note that I expect this to fail for the time being since the Apple backdeployment nodes are still using AppleClang 12. I have to find a solution for that.

Note that I expect this to fail for the time being since the Apple backdeployment nodes are still using AppleClang 12. I have to find a solution for that.

AFAIK that's indeed the only thing blocking use from removing _LIBCPP_HAS_NO_CONCEPTS.

libcxx/utils/ci/buildkite-pipeline.yml
162–163

Should we keep a Clang 12 job for a while to validate backporting patches to the release branch or should the release branch do the validation?

ldionne added inline comments.Feb 2 2022, 12:33 PM
libcxx/utils/ci/buildkite-pipeline.yml
162–163

The plan was for the release branch to do the validation. Right now, it seems like release branch testing doesn't work correctly, though, but I pinged Mikhail about it.

Mordante added inline comments.Feb 3 2022, 8:22 AM
libcxx/utils/ci/buildkite-pipeline.yml
162–163

Thanks for the clarification.

ldionne updated this revision to Diff 409240.Feb 16 2022, 7:24 AM

Rebase onto main

@DavidSpickett Would it be possible to update the version of Clang used on the ARM builders? They seem to be using Clang 12, which is moving out of our support window.

Totally, we've been waiting for a good reason to update. I'll bring it up with the team.

ldionne updated this revision to Diff 412065.Mar 1 2022, 5:26 AM

Rebase to poke CI

FYI I am hoping to have Linaro bots updated to clang-13 this week.

FYI I am hoping to have Linaro bots updated to clang-13 this week.

Awesome, thanks!

ldionne updated this revision to Diff 412553.Mar 2 2022, 3:00 PM

Rebase to poke CI

Herald added a project: Restricted Project. · View Herald TranscriptMar 2 2022, 3:00 PM

@DavidSpickett I think your bots are the only ones that need to be updated now!

We're having some issues on our end blocking the update, still working to get it done ASAP.

We're having some issues on our end blocking the update, still working to get it done ASAP.

Any update?

Still blocked on updating the actual bots but I've setup a second set with clang-13 that I'm checking this patch against right now.

If that's working I'll switch CI in general to these temporary Arm bots and you can land this. Once our internal issue is solved I'll switch back to the previous bot, that will then have clang-13.

Still blocked on updating the actual bots but I've setup a second set with clang-13 that I'm checking this patch against right now.

If that's working I'll switch CI in general to these temporary Arm bots and you can land this. Once our internal issue is solved I'll switch back to the previous bot, that will then have clang-13.

Awesome, thanks a lot.

ldionne updated this revision to Diff 413946.Mar 8 2022, 3:03 PM

Poke bots just to see if the new ARM builders are live.

If you rebase to include https://reviews.llvm.org/D121224 then you'll get the Arm bots with clang-13.

ldionne updated this revision to Diff 414120.Mar 9 2022, 9:09 AM

Rebase onto main. Thanks @DavidSpickett!

ldionne added a subscriber: Restricted Project.Mar 10 2022, 5:58 AM

I'm going to ship this since CI is passing.

Heads up libc++ vendors, our support window for compilers is moving forward as indicated in our policy!

ldionne accepted this revision as: Restricted Project, Restricted Project.Mar 10 2022, 5:58 AM
This revision was not accepted when it landed; it landed in state Needs Review.Mar 10 2022, 5:59 AM
This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.