Page MenuHomePhabricator

lldb - towards AArch64 being recognised as platform architecture
ClosedPublic

Authored by pawelo on Jul 3 2014, 10:57 PM.

Details

Reviewers
tfiala
Summary

This one isn't meant to be complete, it's merely a step into AArch64 direction.
Before this patch, lldb can't even list AArch64 when cross-compiled and started on FoundationV8 emulator:

error: attach failed: '/usr/sbin/sshd' doesn't contain any 'host' platform architectures:
(lldb)

The same goes to lldb-gdbserver (e.g. when started for 'ls' command):

LaunchDebugServerProcess: failed to launch executable ls
error: failed to launch 'ls': 'ls' doesn't contain any 'host' platform architectures:

With this patch applied, "aarch64" is at least listed as platform architecture:

error: attach failed: '/usr/sbin/sshd' doesn't contain any 'host' platform architectures: aarch64, aarch64
(lldb)

LaunchDebugServerProcess: failed to launch executable ls
error: failed to launch 'ls': 'ls' doesn't contain any 'host' platform architectures: aarch64, aarch64

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

pawelo updated this revision to Diff 11072.Jul 3 2014, 10:57 PM
pawelo retitled this revision from to lldb - towards AArch64 being recognised as platform architecture.
pawelo updated this object.
pawelo edited the test plan for this revision. (Show Details)
pawelo set the repository for this revision to rL LLVM.
pawelo added a subscriber: Unknown Object (MLST).

That's how Linux started on FoundationV8 emulator names itself:

root@genericarmv8:~# uname -m
aarch64
root@genericarmv8:~# uname -a
Linux genericarmv8 3.10.1.0-1-linaro-vexpress64 #1ubuntu1~ci+130718012724 SMP Thu Jul 18 01:30:58 UTC 2013 aarch64 GNU/Linux

pawelo updated this revision to Diff 11352.Jul 13 2014, 9:59 AM
pawelo set the repository for this revision to rL LLVM.

New improved version posted.

pawelo updated this revision to Diff 11922.Jul 27 2014, 10:26 AM
pawelo set the repository for this revision to rL LLVM.

Newer version that fits to recent changes.

tfiala added a subscriber: tfiala.Jul 28 2014, 8:43 AM

Hey Paul,

Thanks for your patience on these. I'm going to be looking at the two I
see in reviews.llvm.org today.

-Todd

Hey Paul,

Trying to catch up on the patches that didn't make it in yet. This looks like one of them. Can you shoot me an email with all the changes that are not in yet? Can you also add me as reviewers on them (user tfiala) and rebase them against lldb top of tree? Thanks!

-Todd

tfiala edited edge metadata.Aug 28 2014, 7:31 AM

No need to rebase this one. Testing it now.

tfiala accepted this revision.Aug 28 2014, 7:41 AM
tfiala edited edge metadata.

LGTM.

Tested on Ubuntu 14.04 x86_64,
MacOSX 10.9.4.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Aug 28 2014, 7:41 AM
tfiala closed this revision.Aug 28 2014, 7:42 AM

svn commit
Sending include/lldb/Core/ArchSpec.h
Sending source/Core/ArchSpec.cpp
Transmitting file data ..
Committed revision 216668.

Hi Todd,

I'm sorry for late response, I'm doing things on the run for last three
days, hopefully things will settle down soon. As for my patches I can see
that most of them are already commited. The ones that are waiting I listed
below:

http://reviews.llvm.org/D4579 - accepted, not commited
http://reviews.llvm.org/D4580 - waiting on Apple review
http://reviews.llvm.org/D4430 - waiting for review
http://reviews.llvm.org/D5089 - newly added

Cheers,
Paul