Page MenuHomePhabricator

mmarjieh (Michael Marjieh)
User

Projects

User does not belong to any projects.

User Details

User Since
Feb 10 2021, 12:41 AM (9 w, 4 d)

Recent Activity

Tue, Mar 30

mmarjieh updated subscribers of D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count.

@RKSimon @craig.topper After investigating and trying out this combine in different DAG combine phases, I noticed that this optimization is not always beneficial for all targets.
Since this combine is beneficial in our target, I already implemented it in the target specific ISelLowering.
If we want to continue with this patch and commit it to the community, I suggest that we introduce a target hook for it.

Tue, Mar 30, 6:19 AM · Restricted Project

Mar 3 2021

mmarjieh updated the summary of D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count.
Mar 3 2021, 3:05 AM · Restricted Project
mmarjieh retitled D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count from [DAGCombiner] Improve reduceBuildVecToShuffle Performance to [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count.
Mar 3 2021, 3:05 AM · Restricted Project
mmarjieh added a comment to D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count.

This doesn't seem like the right direction,
i'd expect that to be a new fold to reduce shuffle count,
because if we only teach some existing fold to do this,
we'll miss such shuffle patterns that appear via other means.

Mar 3 2021, 1:46 AM · Restricted Project
mmarjieh updated the diff for D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count.

Instead of reducing the number of vector_shuffle DAG nodes
in reduceBuildVecToShuffle, do this in a separate combine.

Mar 3 2021, 1:38 AM · Restricted Project

Feb 16 2021

mmarjieh added a comment to D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count.

Hey guys, I would appreciate it if you can review.
I think this change is beneficial for all targets, since we are reducing the number of shuffle_vector dag nodes and hence reducing code size.
Since I am not familiar with all targets, can you go over the target assembly and verify that it is beneficial for you?
I counted the number of instructions in each lit test and saw an improvement in the number of instructions.

Feb 16 2021, 6:45 AM · Restricted Project

Feb 15 2021

mmarjieh added reviewers for D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count: rs, stefanp, simon_tatham.
Feb 15 2021, 8:09 AM · Restricted Project

Feb 11 2021

mmarjieh added inline comments to D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count.
Feb 11 2021, 1:32 AM · Restricted Project

Feb 10 2021

mmarjieh added reviewers for D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count: RKSimon, craig.topper, mkuper, greened, jtony.
Feb 10 2021, 3:36 AM · Restricted Project
mmarjieh updated the diff for D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count.

Fix typo in commit message.

Feb 10 2021, 3:28 AM · Restricted Project
mmarjieh requested review of D96405: [DAGCombiner] Reduce Shuffle_Vector Nodes Count.
Feb 10 2021, 3:25 AM · Restricted Project