Page MenuHomePhabricator

CMake targets for building man pages
AbandonedPublic

Authored by axw on Jun 8 2015, 12:51 AM.

Details

Reviewers
chandlerc
Summary

This adds targets to build the clang
man page, as in the corresponding Makefile.
The output is used in Debian packaging,
which is currently stuck using autotools.

Diff Detail

Event Timeline

axw updated this revision to Diff 27283.Jun 8 2015, 12:51 AM
axw retitled this revision from to CMake targets for building man pages.
axw updated this object.
axw edited the test plan for this revision. (Show Details)
axw added a reviewer: chandlerc.
axw added a subscriber: Unknown Object (MLST).
axw updated this revision to Diff 27308.Jun 8 2015, 6:39 AM

Change to use LLVM_PATH_ variable prefix.

chandlerc requested changes to this revision.Jun 9 2015, 2:43 AM
chandlerc edited edge metadata.

I think the logic here should be bundled up in a macro in the LLVM cmake tree so that we can use it both for Clang's man page generation but also generating other man pages. Does that make sense?

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Jun 9 2015, 2:43 AM
axw added a comment.Jun 9 2015, 2:46 AM

I think the logic here should be bundled up in a macro in the LLVM cmake tree so that we can use it both for Clang's man page generation but also generating other man pages. Does that make sense?

I didn't because this is the only thing that uses pod2man or groff AFAICS, but I'll move it to LLVM to give people that option.

silvas added a subscriber: silvas.Jun 9 2015, 4:39 PM

Clang's man page is the only thing that is generated like this. The rest use Sphinx's manpage output.

axw added a comment.Jun 12 2015, 2:01 AM

Clang's man page is the only thing that is generated like this. The rest use Sphinx's manpage output.

@chandlerc given the above, do you still want me to create a macro/function? I'm not deeply involved here, so grain of salt, but I think it'd be better to converge on one documentation tool (Sphinx) than to perpetuate use of multiple formats (Sphinx & pod2man, and whatever else there may be). I could look at rewriting the clang.pod file in Sphinx, and then use Sphinx in CMake. Is that a reasonable change?

BTW, there's this: https://llvm.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=23054, so what's there seems to be broken on OS X at least, though I can't verify that.

axw abandoned this revision.Jun 18 2015, 9:43 PM

Closing this, will send a new diff with sphinx-based man page.